Transform Your Commute into Your Morning Meditation

 

“Realize deeply that the present moment is all you ever have.” – Eckhart Tolle

As a mom of a beautiful one-year-old boy, you can imagine how busy my schedule gets. And when I do have a free moment, it’s usually spent eating or sleeping. But as someone who struggles with anxiety, meditating is not something I can compromise. I need it in my life. It’s just a matter of when I can squeeze it in to my daily routine.

Over the past few months, my morning drive to work has quickly and conveniently transformed into a time and space for centering and awareness. I’ve found that my anxiety reaches a clamoring crescendo once I have finally gotten myself out the door, late as always. I get into my car, open up my work email (which is merged with my personal…bad idea), and I immediately feel my body temperature and blood pressure rise. The to-do list unravels, the anxieties multiply, and my body starts to tense as I head into that familiar, numb place. If I let the stress of the day start there, I know what the outcome will be. So I have decided to use this glorious, quiet, 30-minute commute for my morning mediation.

Here’s how to transform your commute into a wonderful, enjoyable experience that sets you up for a great day.

Listen to a Guided Meditation

There is something about a guided meditation that works wonders for me. After finishing the Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle on Audible, I knew I had found something powerful. The sound of his voice and the beautiful sentiments he shares makes everything better.

Find your breath.

NEVER underestimate the power of your breath. I know it sounds stupid, but there is something to it. Breathing is something we all do all the time and never pay any attention to. But breathing is life. It’s everything. It brings you back to the present moment, to your body, to reality. During tomorrow’s morning meditation, pay attention to the life and energy you feel within in your body with each and every breath.

The story of I am

I love the reference to “I am” in Eckhart’s meditation. Your story is I am…not I was or I will. The present moment is all that we have. Becoming aware of what is real and happening around you is what Eckhart refers to as the “isness” of the moment. It is the only thing that is real. The past is not real anymore and the future has yet to happen. Why worry or think about either?

With a few centering breaths and a calming meditation playing in the background, you can find your way back to the now. This morning, I felt my hands on the steering wheel, I tasted really tasted the wonderful flavors in my cup of coffee, and saw the vibrancy of my surroundings even on a dreary, rainy New England morning. I didn’t want to leave my car once parked outside of my office. How funny and odd is that? I wanted to soak it all in for just a few moments longer. Who would have ever thought a commute could be so enjoyable!

Don’t forget to say your Morning Mantra!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

